Wordcraft Home Page    Wordcraft Community Home Page    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  The Written Word    Newspaper articles of interest
Page 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 

Closed Topic Closed
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools
Newspaper articles of interest Login/Join

Picture of Richard English
posted Hide Post
I generally let Word do the job - although I do know the formula and used to use it.

Richard English

Posts: 8038 | Location: Partridge Green, West Sussex, UKReport This Post
Picture of arnie
posted Hide Post
Heh. I've been using Word for about 20 years and never noticed that option before (although I'd guess it wasn't included in the DOS versions I used at first)!

Build a man a fire and he's warm for a day. Set a man on fire and he's warm for the rest of his life.

Picture of Kalleh
posted Hide Post
I've not known about it either. I can't wait to put some of my articles into it!

Picture of wordmatic
posted Hide Post
I never knew that was there either! What a great little tool--though I had to search though the help menu to find it. Very handy. Thanks.

Richard, as for your press release, there are two reasons to write a press release: either to make it so interesting that the newspaper will publish the information as you sent it, or to make it so intriguing and interesting that the editor will actually decide to send someone to cover it (even better than just reprinting what you wrote.) Of course, you want them to run the release as written so as to attract participants, but since your event sounds as if it might make a fun feature, your release might also draw a reporter to the first quiz night, giving you a "double whammy" for your efforts. So I would just write it as you think it should be written, and then (sigh) if the people who requested that you do it take a blue pencil to it--that's just one of those "oh well--I tried" situations that you can't do anything about. The bane of a PR person's existence.

Wordmatic