Wordcraft Home Page    Wordcraft Community Home Page    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  The Written Word    Son of Double Dactyls
Page 1 ... 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Son of Double Dactyls Login/Join

Picture of BobHale
posted Hide Post
The first summer that I taught at Harrow there was another teacher there who was a rather objectionable man. At lunch and dinner the teachers and pupils all stood in one queue and waited to be served. On one occasion he marched right to front with his tray and demanded "Serve me first, I'm a teacher!" The kitchen staff ignored him and continued to serve people in the queue. He stormed off to find the kitchen supervisor and brought her back to complain in public about her staff. He went a very interesting shade of purple when instead of reprimanding them she really told him off about his own bad manners and told him to go to the back of the queue and wait his turn like everyone else. There wasn't any cheering but there were a lot of satisfied faces around.

"No man but a blockhead ever wrote except for money." Samuel Johnson.

Posts: 9421 | Location: EnglandReply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of Kalleh
posted Hide Post
Was he American? Wink

Posts: 24735 | Location: Chicago, USAReply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of BobHale
posted Hide Post
Irish

Picture of Richard English
posted Hide Post
quote:
every so often we all will come across a butinsky.

That's a new word to me. Wordweb has it as "buttinsky" and defines it as "...A meddler who tends to butt in..."

Richard English

Posts: 8038 | Location: Partridge Green, West Sussex, UKReply With QuoteReport This Post
<Asa Lovejoy>
posted
Butinsky, buttinsky... Reminds me of a dog in the park today who rose to the occasion when a female dog offered her rear to sniff. Would that be "ascent?"

Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post