Wordcraft Home Page    Wordcraft Community Home Page    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Potpourri    Stop the apostrophe catastrophe!
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Stop the apostrophe catastrophe! Login/Join

Picture of jerry thomas
posted Hide Post
My difficulty with this discussion involves the labelling of something inanimate (a convention, a rule, a law ... ) as "stupid."

If there are stupid conventions, are there also "intelligent" conventions ?

Is there a rating system for measuring the degree of stupidity or intellect of conventions?

Okay, tell me it's a stupid question !

Posts: 6708 | Location: Kehena Beach, Hawaii, U.S.A.Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of BobHale
posted Hide Post
And for the record I don't actually care one way or the other but as a teacher I teach the convention and find it useful to tell the students that "its" behaves like the other possessives and doesn't have an apostrophe. I doubt very much if any of them are interested enough in the history of the apostrophe to care either.

"No man but a blockhead ever wrote except for money." Samuel Johnson.

Posts: 9421 | Location: EnglandReply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of zmježd
posted Hide Post
My difficulty with this discussion involves the labelling of something inanimate (a convention, a rule, a law ... ) as "stupid."

Just for the record, I'm using the word stupid in as defined in the AH dictionary.
quote:
3. Marked by a lack of intelligence or care; foolish or careless: a stupid mistake. [..] 5. Pointless; worthless: a stupid job.

Sorry our idiolects of English differ so much as to hinder communication.

I doubt very much if any of them are interested enough in the history of the apostrophe to care either.

No doubt, no doubt, but that has nothing to do with why I find the convention stupid, which it is.

Ceci n'est pas un seing.

Posts: 5148 | Location: R'lyehReply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post