Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Literacy versus numeracy Login/Join

Picture of Richard English
posted
In the UK there is a Government-backed online learning initiative called Learn Direct for which I am a registered tutor. It's a very poorly run show, as is so often the case with Government-funded iniatives, but that's another story.

Anyway, today I was checking the learner services area where students can post their queries and observations and I found the following comment:

"hi my name is XXXXX and lam doing a on line course about number skills direct findining useful for my number skills"

My first thought was, is this candidate on the right course? And my second was, if this is an indication of the student's level of literacy, what is his or her level of numeracy?

Maybe it's wrong to make fun of the disadvantaged but I am very concerned about the standards that are now so commonly accepted when, in truth, our new-found ability to communicate so widely and so easily should, surely, require a greater facility with language, not a lesser one.

Richard English

Posts: 8038 | Location: Partridge Green, West Sussex, UKReply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of BobHale
posted Hide Post
There is a perception, both among Government "educators" and a large section of the public that, in numeracy as in literacy, the minimum functional level is sufficient. We see it all too often on message boards with the "yor bord sux" style of trolling. I'm not suggesting that we all need to be Stephen Hawking but it's as if no-one can see the difference between being barely able to work out what six loaves of bread at thirty pence each cost and being able to calculate your mortgage repayments accurately. Everyone seems to be just accepting that the ability to count to ten and maybe calculate the return on a betting slip is an adequate level of numeracy.