Wordcraft Community Home Page
Trompe l'oeil

This topic can be found at:
https://wordcraft.infopop.cc/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/932607094/m/2771091361

March 11, 2005, 21:15
Kalleh
Trompe l'oeil
I was a Spanish student, but I have never had French. This term, trompe l'oeil, Shu, CW and I saw at the Art Institute today. The sign said, trompe l'oeil, or realistic,.... Shu says that the phrase doesn't mean realistic. The online AHD says it means, " A style of painting that gives an illusion of photographic reality." To add a little confusion, it comes from a French word meaning to deceive! What does it mean? Is the phrase only used with art, or can it be used in other ways?
March 11, 2005, 21:39
amnow
quote:
trompe l'oeil

1940s wallpaper?

Does the phrase really mean 'fool the eyes'?
March 12, 2005, 00:36
arnie
It doesn't mean realistic, but it has to be realistic enough to fool the eye.

Build a man a fire and he's warm for a day. Set a man on fire and he's warm for the rest of his life.
March 12, 2005, 01:23
Richard English
quote:
trompe l'oeil

In fact, the device is not necessarily at all realistic since its job is to create an illusion of realism. This means that there is often a distortion in the painting to give the impression of a three-dimensional object.

There are many examples of this device, including one I have seen (in Malta, I think) where the ceiling of a modest building was painted so as to look like a dome when viewed from the right angle.

The is a good explanation, and some examples, here - http://www.artlex.com/ArtLex/t/trompeloeil.html

Richard English
March 12, 2005, 04:58
BobHale
Or take a look at this!
March 12, 2005, 12:48
Caterwauller
Both of those are great links, guys! Thanks for sharing them.

"Happiness is not something ready made. It comes from your own actions.
~Dalai Lama
March 12, 2005, 14:02
Kalleh
I have looked at some of the links, but the lightbulb in my mind hasn't completely gone on yet.