Wordcraft Community Home Page
Ouestion on Reading

This topic can be found at:
https://wordcraft.infopop.cc/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/332607094/m/4396087482

April 06, 2003, 21:39
wordnerd
Ouestion on Reading
Read any good books lately, that you might recommend?
April 06, 2003, 21:44
TrossL
Go ahead and re-read The Lord of the Rings, Two Towers, etc. you'll be glad you did. Nice to escape our current world for that one.
April 07, 2003, 02:31
arnie
Three Men in a Boat by Jerome K. Jerome is one of the funniest books in the English Language. The Diary of a Nobody by George and Weedon Grossmith is another.
April 07, 2003, 12:36
museamuse
What format should I use to download the etext? I've never done this before. Should I use a zip file?

I recently re-read Stephenson's The Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde. I hadn't realised when I read it at 13 how amazing a book it is.

Another good book that's left a lasting impression on me is Arundhati Roy's The God of Small Things.

A friend has suggested I read Thomas Pychon. Have any of you read him? What did you think? Which novel should I go for?
April 07, 2003, 14:52
C J Strolin
quote:
Originally posted by wordnerd:
Read any good books lately, that you might recommend?

I'm in the process of writing one. If it turns out any good, I'll let you know.
April 07, 2003, 18:17
arnie
quote:
What format should I use to download the etext?
If you're talking about Project Gutenberg Etext, it's a simple text (*.txt) file, which will open in your browser. Alternatively you can download it as a zip file, then unzip it to your hard disk. You can then open it with a decent text editor or word processor. (Note: if you have Windows 9X/ME don't try to use Notepad -- it won't open large files.)
April 09, 2003, 13:16
Kalleh