Wordcraft Home Page    Wordcraft Community Home Page    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  The Written Word    Ouestion on Reading
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Ouestion on Reading Login/Join

posted
Read any good books lately, that you might recommend?

Picture of TrossL
posted Hide Post
Go ahead and re-read The Lord of the Rings, Two Towers, etc. you'll be glad you did. Nice to escape our current world for that one.

Posts: 784 | Location: Atlanta, GAReply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of arnie
posted Hide Post
Three Men in a Boat by Jerome K. Jerome is one of the funniest books in the English Language. The Diary of a Nobody by George and Weedon Grossmith is another.

Posts: 10940 | Location: LondonReply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
What format should I use to download the etext? I've never done this before. Should I use a zip file?

I recently re-read Stephenson's The Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde. I hadn't realised when I read it at 13 how amazing a book it is.

Another good book that's left a lasting impression on me is Arundhati Roy's The God of Small Things.

A friend has suggested I read Thomas Pychon. Have any of you read him? What did you think? Which novel should I go for?

Posts: 266 | Location: GreeceReply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of C J Strolin
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by wordnerd:
Read any good books lately, that you might recommend?

I'm in the process of writing one. If it turns out any good, I'll let you know.

Posts: 1517 | Location: Illinois, USAReply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of arnie
posted Hide Post
quote:
What format should I use to download the etext?