Wordcraft Home Page    Wordcraft Community Home Page    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Potpourri    Children of the Code
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Children of the Code Login/Join

Picture of Caterwauller
posted
I just heard David Boulton speak last night at a short workshop and I am totally reeling. I've been researching and working on Early Literacy for about 5 years now, and this new piece just fascinates me. He is pulling together people from even more diverse fields of study to delve into why it's so hard for kids to learn to read, and also why it sets them up for failure in life. One piece I have not yet heard about is the downward spiral of embarassment and shame and what that does to a person. If you start at such a young age feeling shame at being confused over learning, it can literally derail your brain in such a fashion that it incapacitates you.

What I mean is this: if you get a blip of confusion it distracts your brain, and after a while that distraction is noticed and you are embarassed by it, you feel ashamed. When you are ashamed, it slows down how your brain works because it's busy feeling shame instead of concentrating on what you're trying to do. As you feel that, you begin to, naturally, want to avoid what makes you feel the shame. When you are trying to read again (especially orally in front of others), your shame and embarassment come earlier in that process of feeling ashamed and you become derailed earlier. Soon, you start to do things that help you avoid the whole process, which makes it harder to learn, which makes it less likely that you'll succeed which makes you feel more ashamed . . .