Wordcraft Home Page    Wordcraft Community Home Page    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Potpourri    Brave in the attempt...
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Brave in the attempt... Login/Join

Picture of Kalleh
posted
In an article about the first international games of the Special Olympics, they called the players "intellectually disabled." Is that the new politically correct term for "mentally challenged" or whatever the word is for "mentally retarded" these days?

BTW, note that the Special Olympics were conceived of in Chicago by a 23-year-old park district employee who is now on the Illinois Supreme Court.

Posts: 24735 | Location: Chicago, USAReply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I'm far from an expert on PC, but disabled seems to be very wrong.

Disabled should mean just that. Unable to do something. Not less able than most. If not, then what does partially disabled mean?

<Proofreader>
posted
"Partially disabled" means you can't work at all because of an on-the-job injury, so you qualify for a tax-free pension. Then, while out of work hurt, you enter and win a body-building contest. An actual recent court case. Bonus points: Your lawyer says you only went to the gym to overcome the loneliness of your monotonous (tax-free) days.

Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of Kalleh
posted Hide Post
Yes, others have told me that "disabled" isn't an acceptable term. Yet, this was written in the editorial section of the paper, and they are usually so careful.

<Proofreader>
posted
I deplore the lack of precision in the euphemisms you listed. Their inadequacy is revealed by Kalleh's having to ask what the latest term is. Each term eventually acquires the stigma of being a bad choice and needs a replacement term, which needs a replacement term, ad infinitum. But they all return to a specific: mentally retarded, which I always consider an "acceptable term."