Wordcraft Home Page    Wordcraft Community Home Page    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Potpourri    Not just me
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Not just me Login/Join

Picture of BobHale
posted
This post from Neil Gaiman's blog is so much like me it's uncanny.

And it's not just tea. I'm an English teacher and a running joke in my classes between me and my students is how often I lose board pens, erasers, papers etc. I can have a pile of papers in my hand but when I come to hand them out I can't find them and the observant students will notice me surreptitiously looking around, trying to notice if I've left them on my desk, or near the computer, or on one of their desks, or on the window sill or occasionally in the bin.

I have occasionally made the remark that I can sit at an empty desk with just a sheet of paper and a pen and that if I blink my eyes I will lose the pen and the paper. If I blink twice I might even lose the desk.

"No man but a blockhead ever wrote except for money." Samuel Johnson.

Posts: 9421 | Location: EnglandReply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of arnie
posted Hide Post
With me it's the TV remote control. I sit to watch TV on a two-seater settee and put the remote control on the empty cushion beside me. When I want to change channels it has almost always disappeared. It slides down the gap between the two cushions, or between the cushion and the far arm of the settee, or the cushion and the back. If I've got up at some stage it will quite likely have jumped onto the floor. Often, when I just want to avoid the commercials, they will have finished by the time I've found where the remote is lurking.

I did try putting the remote on the coffee table nearby instead for a while, but kept forgetting, so, after searching the settee throughly, I would eventually find it there after I'd given up.

Build a man a fire and he's warm for a day. Set a man on fire and he's warm for the rest of his life.