Wordcraft Community Home Page
The Celebrated Popping Sprog of Manitoba Provence

This topic can be found at:
https://wordcraft.infopop.cc/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/932607094/m/3526080061

November 09, 2002, 14:48
<Asa Lovejoy>
The Celebrated Popping Sprog of Manitoba Provence
With apologies to Mark Twain for paraphrasing the title of one of his stories, I ask you non-USA residents whether the expression, "pop a sprog" is common where you live. A Canadian pen pal used the expression, the context clearly meaning "to give birth," but I've never heard it in the USA. Whence comes the expression?
November 09, 2002, 17:10
Kalleh
Asa, I am a USA resident, and I agree with you that I have never heard of it. I am interested to find out more about the phrase. confused
November 10, 2002, 02:24
Richard English
I have never heard the expression used in the UK in quite this way, although "sprog" is a common enough slang expression for a child.

Richard English
November 10, 2002, 04:09
BobHale
As Richard says "sprog" is a common expression for a child and I have heard "she's popped" used to mean "given birth" (presumably the image intended being that of shelling peas) but I've never heard the two combined in the way suggested.

Quid quid latine dictum sit, altum viditur

Read all about my travels around the world here.
November 10, 2002, 18:08
Morgan
I'm in the U. S. and I never heard this before. It sounds more like a description of someone getting hurt: "OUCH! I think I just popped a sproggggggggggggggggggg!" big grin
November 10, 2002, 19:31
wordnerd
"Sprog" is entirely new to me, but I did find it in one on-line dictionary.
quote:
BRITISH AND AUSTRALIAN SLANG
n: a baby or young child
v. Has she sprogged (=given birth) yet?