Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

lie/lay Login/Join

posted
As an English teacher in Norway, I have realized the following: not only do my students have problems with "to lie" and "to lay" but most Americans (and perhaps Britons) have problems with these two verbs as well. Not only is the correct usage of them a problem, but the conjugation of each verb is almost impossible. I would like to ask if you, IN ALL HONESTY AND WITHOUT PEEKING IN A REFERENCE BOOK, can both explain the difference and correctly conjugate these verbs. I'm just curious, because those who read this are a cut above the run-of-the-mill English-speaking individual.

Posts: 120 | Location: Oslo, NorwayReply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of BobHale
posted Hide Post
quote:
I would like to ask if you, IN ALL HONESTY AND WITHOUT PEEKING IN A REFERENCE BOOK, can both explain the difference and correctly conjugate these verbs.

Yes, but then I should be able to - I'm also an English teacher...

"No man but a blockhead ever wrote except for money." Samuel Johnson.

Posts: 9421 | Location: EnglandReply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
...but then you're not American, either! Americans are notorious for being ignorant regarding lie and lay. Generally speaking, of course.

Picture of Kalleh
posted Hide Post
Well, first of all, welcome to wordcraft! Smile Big Grin Wink Cool

These are exactly the kinds of questions we like!

I am not an English teacher, and I will jump in. If I am wrong, don't be too hard on me! Roll Eyes I have not referred to a reference book, or old posts here, but I wanted to!

I go by the following: Today I "lie" on the bed, yesterday I "lay" on the bed, many times I have "lain" on the bed. You lay" something on the table (active), though it "lies" on the table (passive). Then, I may tell a "lie", but that's a different story entirely! Wink

Am I correct?

Posts: 24735 | Location: Chicago, USAReply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of BobHale
posted Hide Post
quote: