Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

The future of language Login/Join

posted
I'm a fledgling author (published a couple of eBooks, which I am told is not as "official" as print books, but it's something), and I am gearing up to write a book series. The task is both extremely exciting and overwhelming, but I'm greatly enjoying the preparatory research.

The story takes place at least a couple of centuries in the future, but I am presented with a problem regarding language.

Diachronic Linguistics. Idioms, vocabulary, etc. in use now might seem very much out of place in a futuristic setting. For example, "He wouldn't hurt a fly" might be completely inappropriate for someone who has lived in a sterile environment for most of his life, such as in a spacecraft. Though I could be careful of avoiding this mistake, to guess at what the equivalent idiom might be two hundred years in the future is like Chaucer trying to come up with "pimp my ride".

Also, as the author, I must give the reader a sense of this evolution of language without making the reader feel like Chaucer dropped into 21st-century New York, trying to figure out what everyone is saying. An excellent example of this is the TV series Firefly, in which the characters mainly speak in English (with a touch of old Western slang), but curse in Chinese and use the word "shiny" like we might use "good" or "cool".

So, I would like to ask everyone a few questions.

1) What is your take on the future of language? English is already a glorious hodgepodge of many languages, but how will English--or language in general--evolve?

2) Do you know of any books or articles that address this topic?

Picture of Richard English
posted Hide Post
The only thing certain about the future is its uncertainty. And that includes the future of language.