New
Find
Notify
Tools

Glisters Login/Join

Picture of Chris J. Strolin
posted

Question:
I was recently chided for not being familiar with this word which, frankly, I didn't think was fair. For one thing, I'm still fairly new to this lexicography biz and, for another, nobody knows all the words, right?

It is, however, my opinion that this is not a word that most people are overly familiar with. In order to test this theory, I would like to put it into the form of a poll similar to the Guess the Word game that has been so popular here for so long. With the understanding that Wordcrafters are far better read and, in general, undoubtedly have much wider vocabularies than the average person, I am still willing to bet that this one will stump most of you.

As always, it's grey matter only, no reference materials allowed. Four of the choices I'm providing, listed in alphabetical order, are totally bogus BUT one of them actually is the definition of "glisters."

The choice is yours.

Choices:
The blades of ice skates or, in a larger sense, horse-drawn sleighs
Head lice
A printer's term for the symbols above the numbers on a keyboard and, by extension, a term for printed swearing using these symbols as in "#@%$! you, you stupid *%^#@!"
Shines or glistens as a star might as in "Glister, glister, little star."
Thick, round coaster-like objects placed under the legs of heavy furniture to prevent them from making permanent indentations in one's carpeting

Picture of Richard English
posted Hide Post
It will be interesting to see where the respondents giving the correct answer hail from and whether each had a classical education!

Richard English

Posts: 8038 | Location: Partridge Green, West Sussex, UKReply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of jheem
posted Hide Post
I know the term. In fact, in its original setting, starting two lines above its usage, we find this:

"A carrion Death, within whose empty eye
There is a written scroll I'll read the writing."