Wordcraft Home Page    Wordcraft Community Home Page    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Questions & Answers about Words    Period inside or outside the parenthesis?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Period inside or outside the parenthesis? Login/Join

Picture of Kalleh
posted
If you are writing a sentence, shouldn't the period be outside the parenthesis - for example: I am a professor at the university (albeit a nontenured professor). We've been told the "right" way is for it to be inside.

Posts: 24735 | Location: Chicago, USAReply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of BobHale
posted Hide Post
It's another of those style issues that people persist in mistaking for grammar. You should use whatever the style guide for your organisation says. In personal writing I put the punctuation wherever it seems to logically belong.

"No man but a blockhead ever wrote except for money." Samuel Johnson.

Posts: 9421 | Location: EnglandReply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Outside seems more reasonable to me since it ends the entire thought included in the sentence.

Posts: 6168 | Location: Muncie, IndianaReply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I’m with him.

Posts: 6267 | Location: Worcester, MA, USReply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of Kalleh
posted Hide Post
I guess Bob's way is the most lenient, but I tend to agree with Geoff and Hab.

posted Hide Post
quote:
Though not necessarily logical, the American rules for multiple punctuation with quotation marks are firmly established. (See here for a brief explanation of the British style.)

Commas and periods that are part of the overall sentence go inside the quotation marks, even though they aren’t part of the original quotation.

Unless they are part of the original quotation, all marks other than commas or periods are placed outside the quotation marks.

From https://www.thepunctuationguid...quotation-marks.html

Posts: 2878 | Location: Shoreline, WA, USAReply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of Kalleh