Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Send 'em back Login/Join

<Proofreader>
posted
After listening to a news program, I checked the dictionary to see if I'd heard correctly. The announcer said a person was "being extradited back" to his home country. However, "extradite" seems to be all-encompassing (turn over to the jursidiction of another country or entity) and doesn't need "back". Or am I wrong?

Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I agree, it doesn't need "back". But that doesn't mean "extradite back" is wrong - imo, redundancy is useful because it can ensure the message gets thru despite background noise, inattention, etc.

This message has been edited. Last edited by: goofy,

posted Hide Post
Goofy, you're a linguist and I'm just a chainsaw mechanic, but to my untrained ear the redundancy sounds awkward.

It is no measure of health to be well adjusted to a profoundly sick society. -J. Krishnamurti

Posts: 6168 | Location: Muncie, IndianaReply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Sure it might sound awkward, but "awkward" doesn't mean "incorrect" Smile I don't have a problem with it in casual speech and writing but your mileage may vary.

This message has been edited. Last edited by: goofy,

Picture of Kalleh
posted Hide Post
I see your point, goofy. However, to me, "extradited back" does sound funny. It's nothing to do with being "too prescriptive;" it just seems odd to me. Perhaps it's a regionalism.

Posts: 24735 | Location: Chicago, USAReply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
He is being extradited back to Israel to face war crimes charges.

He is being extradited to Israel to face war crimes charges.

I don't think these sentences are equivalent. I can think of cases in which one would apply and the other wouldn't. I guess you could argue that "home country" makes it redundant, but "back" seems to emphasize that he came from there to here, rather than from a third country.