Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

winkelhake Login/Join

Picture of Kalleh
posted
I met this woman today whose first name was "Iris." I told her about "iris" being one of the only names that is a body part (cross-threading again!).

Well, she told me about her last name, which is more interesting! Winkelhake means "builder of fences" in German and "seat of the pants are ripped" in Dutch.

I love the latter, and I doubt that we have a name for it. Besides "fencebuilder," I don't think we have a word for the former either...though I could be wrong.

Posts: 24735 | Location: Chicago, USAReply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Completely fabricated account of how Winkelhake has those two meanings.

A German fenc ebuilder named Hans Winkelhake was taking a roadtrip through western Europe. He came across the farm of a young Dutchman. The Dutchman asked Hans what he did for a living. "I'm a fence builder", replied Hans, proud of his craft.

The Dutchman needed a new fence to keep his livestock from escaping, so he commissioned Hans on the spot. Hans made speedy work, and three days later the fence was done. The Dutchman was suscipious, and asked Hans if the fence was truly strong enough to keep the animals in. Hans said "Of course it is", and threw his weight against it, not moving it an inch.

"Ah", said the Dutchman, "But will it keep robbers out?" Hans, anxious to demonstrate the solidity of his fence, proceded to climb it. As he got to the top, the fence was more difficult to climb, and right at the top, he fell forward, catching the seat of his pants on the spike, ripping them open.

The Dutchman thought this was the funniest thing, and called over his friends. They saw Hans laying on the ground with the seat of his pants ripped. "Winkelhake", the Dutchman told them.

I was bored. : )

Posts: 886 | Location: IllinoisReply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of arnie
posted Hide Post