Wordcraft Home Page    Wordcraft Community Home Page    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Questions & Answers about Words    hyphenating "Right of way" questions
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

hyphenating "Right of way" questions Login/Join

posted
Black’s Law Dictionary (Sixth ed.) defines “Right of way” in part, as:
“Term used to describe a right belonging to party to pass over land of another, but is also used to describe that strip of land upon which railroad companies construct their road bed, and, when so used, the term refers to the land itself, not the right of passage over it.
As used with reference to right to pass over another’s, it is only an easement …”

Black’s Law Dictionary does not hyphenate the definition entry.

I am not an expert with words as so many here are. I work for a “Right Of Way Department" in an office, and I have gotten mixed signals as to hyphenation of this term. I would appreciate the opinions of any of the experts on this forum.
• In the context of using it as an easement right across another’s property, would you hyphenate it (as in “I have a right of way across your property”)?
• If you use it as a three-word prefix, such as “right-of-way easement” or “right-of-way line” would you do anything different than when it is a stand-alone term?
• Would you apply a different hyphenation rule when using it as a three-word term for the strip of land itself and not an easement “right” such as for a railroad or highway corridor (see definition above)?
• Finally, if you worked in the “Right Of Way Department” would you capitalize the full term, and would you hyphenate it then?

Follow-up question: The plural of “right of way” is “rights of way” with right being the operative term. What about when used as referring to the full-fee corridor land itself such as the railroad bed example above? Would you say “all of the Railroad rights-of-way” or all of the railroad “right-of-ways”.